The Convent of the Capuchos, likewise called the Convent of the Frairs Minor Capuchin, is a sixteenth century cloister which is described by its greatly humble bases. It is a piece of the Sintra Cultural Landscape World Heritage Site.
Built in the sixteenth century in a detached territory of Sintra, the religious circle was home to a little number of Franciscan friars and was included greatly little living quarters and common territories. By the by after some time it turned into an imperative religious site, drawing in support and visits from kings, nobles and voyagers from numerous nations. By the mid nineteenth century the community was extremely surely understood and bragged various amazing fine arts and frescoes.
In any case, life at the Convent was everlastingly modified in 1834, with the disintegration of the religious orders in Portugal. Taking after this the site fell into a condition of neglect and demolish and endured incredibly during that time that took after. Regardless of reclamation in the mid-twentieth century further harm was caused as of late as 1998 when a few ancient rarities and gems were stolen.
Today, the Convent has at the end of the day been restored and is currently a portion of the Sintra Parks association. Guests can explore the grounds and additionally the confined living quarters and little houses of prayer and devotion to God. Guided visits are available on request.
The convent is also called “The Cork Convent” due it’s construction materials being made of natural cork.
The Convent of the Capuchos is open daily, April to September from 9.30am-8pm, October to March 10am-6pm. Last entry one hour before closing. Adult €6, Children €5, Under-5s free.